Chicago’s lo-fi jazz band Resavoir announce their debut album via International Anthem

15th May 2019

Resavoir follow their debut single ‘Escalator’ with their first album, set to drop on 28 June via Chicago label International Anthem. 

Lead by composer and arranger Will Miller, debut album ‘Resavoir’ is home-produced and features contributions from Lauryn Hill harpist Brandee Younger and vocalist Sen Morimoto, who updates ‘Esculator’ with a story-like narrative. 

Experimental in nature but accessible in its creativity, the record has a lo-fi quality, presenting its influences across hip-hop, jazz and indie – we previously described Resavoir in our weekly New Sound feature as ‘Radiohead on a Jazz trip‘. The self-titled album is another insight into the incredibly fertile Chicago scene right now.

The core band is completed by Will Miller on trumpet/synths, Irvin Pierce on saxophone, Akenya Seymour on keys/vocals, Lane Beckstrom on bass, Peter Manheim on drums and Jeremy Cunningham on drums. Check out the full list of musicians on the album, below. 

Featuring (in order of appearance):
Akenya Seymour – voice, piano, wurlitzer, sampler
Will Miller – sampler, trumpets, synth, piano, wurlitzer, B3 organ
Macie Stewart – violins
Lane Beckstrom – bass
Colin Croom – synth
J.P. Floyd – trombone
Mira Magrill – flute, bamboo flutes
Peter Manheim – drums, percussion
Zoe Miller – violin
Irvin Pierce – tenor saxophone
Brian Sanborn – guitar
Brandee Younger – harp
Jeremy Cunningham – drums, electronic drums
Wills McKenna – flute
Luke Sangerman – electronic drums
Knox Fortune – drum programming
Sen Morimoto – voice, saxophone
Carter Lang – wurlitzer drum machine, additional production

Vinyl and CD are in stores from 26 July, with digital available on 28 June. 

Check out the band making an impact in Switzerland right now, Kaos Protokoll

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *