Sampa the Great announces debut album, ‘The Return’

11th July 2019
Sampa the Great is about to drop her hotly-awaited debut album. 

Following the hugely celebrated ‘Final Form’ comes the announce of the debut album from Sampa The Great and new single, ‘OMG’. 

Fresh from performing at Love Supreme Jazz Festival, Sampa the Great reveals news of her debut album ‘The Return’ which lands on 13 September. It follows her outstanding mixtape, ‘Birds and the BEE9’ which won the prestigious Australian Music Prize in 2017.

‘The Return’ enlists a huge number of established and fast-rising producers including  Silentjay, Slowthai producer Kwes Darko, Clever Austin (Perrin Moss of Hiatus Kiayote), Blue Lab Beats and Syreniscreamy. There’s collaborations with artists too including London collective STEAM DOWN and Ecca Vandal. 

On new single ‘OMG‘, Sampa the Great explores ideas of ‘home’ through the exploration of her African heritage: “I personally feel that people on the continent have a duty to our family in the diaspora, to re-teach our culture, language, spirituality, ways and return our peeps to ourselves,” she says. “To me ‘OMG’ sounds like the songs we heard in our childhood. It’s broadly about flexing your culture! Loving where you’re from and even being shocked at the realisation of not knowing how dope it is to be ‘who you are’.”  

From the insights we have through ‘Final Form’ and ‘OMG’, debut album ‘The Return’ looks set to be one of the most exciting releases of 2019. 

Check out the video for ‘OMG’ below and listen to our podcast with Sampa The Great.

‘The Return’ track list

1. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
2. Freedom
3. Wake Up (Interlude)
4. Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
5. Grass Is Greener
6. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
7. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
8. OMG
9. Light It Up (Interlude)
10. Final Form
11. Heaven (feat. Whosane)
12. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
13. Leading Us Home
14. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
15. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)
16. Give Love (Interlude)
17. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
18. Don’t Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
19. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)

Listen to our podcast with Sampa The Great

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *